Understanding the New Category-Based Selection for Express Entry Candidates in Canada

Immigration Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has officially launched the new category-based selection for candidates in Express Entry managed programs, a year after a bill was passed granting the immigration minister the authority to invite Express Entry candidates with specific attributes to support Canada’s economic goals. Here’s what you need to know about this significant development.

Eligibility Criteria

Express Entry candidates with work experience in healthcare, STEM professions, trades such as carpentry, plumbing, contracting, transport, agriculture, and agri-food, or those with strong French language proficiency are eligible under the new draw categories. Candidates must have accumulated at least six months of continuous work experience within the past three years in an eligible occupation.

When Will the Draws Start?

The targeted draws under the new categories are set to start later this summer, although an exact date has yet to be provided.

Express Entry Profile and CRS Score

Candidates must still meet the eligibility criteria for an Express Entry managed program, which includes the Federal Skilled Worker Program, the Canadian Experience Class, and the Federal Skilled Trades Program. Furthermore, a candidate’s Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score will still count for Express Entry draws. IRCC will continue to hold draws where candidates are invited without reference to any of the six categories.

Continuation of Express Entry Draws for PNP Candidates

IRCC will continue to invite candidates with a provincial or territorial nomination through general and Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)-specific rounds.

Why the New Categories?

The new categories aim to fill a high number of vacant positions throughout Canada, reduce the current labor shortages in many industries, and grow the number of French speakers in French minority communities outside of Quebec.

How Were the Categories Decided?

The categories were chosen following mandatory discussions and public consultations with stakeholders, including provinces and territories, industry members, unions, employers, workers, worker advocacy groups, settlement provider organizations, and immigration researchers and practitioners.

Will the Categories Change?

The categories can change yearly following an IRCC report to parliament that includes the types from the previous year, why and how they were chosen, the instructions to establish a category, and the number of invitations issued for each category.

Candidates can check their eligibility for category-based draws on the official website.

Image Credits: Photo by sebastiaan stam on Unsplash

Ravi brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise in visa updates. With a keen eye for the latest trends and changes in visa regulations, Ravi ensures that our readers are always up-to-date with the most accurate and relevant information.

Leave a Comment

Facebook Twitter WhatsApp